top of page

HOW TO: 5 Steps to Articulation Carryover

Here’s what I use for articulation carryover ~

1. I use my articulation hierarchy form with the student throughout the therapy process. When students can visualize their progress in this way, I have found that they become very motivated to reach 80% so they can make it to the next level! http://www.teacherspayteachers.com/Product/Articulation-Score-Card-Next-Level-685625

2. Once students reach the carryover stage, I give them a slip of paper to take to 1-2 teachers of their choosing, asking how their target sound is in class (pictured)

3. I also encourage parents to choose a time in the day where they and the student agree they will be

listening for the target sound.

4. I listen to the student’s target speech sound outside of the speech room, by either popping up in one

or more of their classes or while they are on a field trip.

My students know the steps to the final stages of therapy, so they are excited to get their teacher feedback slip, and to check off the conversation level on their score cards.

5. My students can read my facial expressions so well! That is another thing that helps. I start off with exaggerated reactions to their errors paired with verbal feedback. As we progress, my expressions become more and more subtle, until eventually, they are similar to the fleeting expressions of confusion others will give them when their sound was not clear (and the listener isn’t sure which word they meant). I think this helps them to react to these natural cues when they happen outside of the Speech room. After a while, I can just furrow my brow or squint ever so slightly and the kids will correct their sounds! (I just have to try very hard not to give these natural cues this while testing)

 

Expand Your S.C.O.P.E.™ is a clinician mentoring and shadowing service for certified healthcare providers looking to expand their own scopes of practice. JOIN NOW to get access to exclusive content and the opportunity to be matched with providers in your field for professional shadowing and mentoring experiences.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page